h1

Miracle Birth! Or, not really.

July 23, 2010

Immaculately conceived, or a trick of the light?

When I arrived home on a Sunday night after a World Cup Final blowout BBQ, I saw this little thing sitting in my closet on a pile of stuff. I shouted for my husband to come and tell me what he saw – I literally thought I was hallucinating.

I was not hallucinating as it turned out. Nor was I “having a bad trip.” A newborn kitten was in my closet, sitting pretty, looking for all the world like he had been expected. I set about trying to find the mystery mother by placing a few possibilities next to him to see who reacted in a motherly fashion. I’m careful about spay/neuter, obviously, so it was a real head-scratcher.

Turns out, it is Ella. And she came to me as a foster already pregnant (who knew?) with her first baby in tow. Her other baby, Bella, now four months old, looks nothing like her baby brother.

Bella.

Unfortunately, Ella does not really want to mother this little baby, although Bella is really psyched about more milk. Miracle man can’t seem to get the nursing thing down properly, but he gets real excited when he’s bottle-fed. Ella insists on carrying him to various unsuitable places and then leaves him lying on the floor. I have tried to explain the concept of nesting and nursing, but Ella is a free-spirit. No doubt Miracle Boy will also be one, unless he develops an unhealthy attachment to his human mom, who is still a little surprised to see him every day.

One comment

  1. […] Confidential Life. With cats. « Miracle Birth! Or, not really. Updated Kitten Confidential! Fostering the best a cat has to offer. February 13, 2011 […]



Leave a Reply

